Nature Lovers

Nature Lovers Events

Weekend Chairlift Rides at Holiday Valley

Chairlift ride in the summer. Photo credit: Holiday Valley
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Oct 30 2022 .
Sat, 05/21/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 05/22/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 05/22/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 05/23/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 05/28/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 05/29/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 05/29/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 05/30/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 06/04/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 06/05/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 06/05/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 06/06/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 06/11/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 06/12/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 06/12/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 06/13/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 06/18/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 06/19/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 06/19/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 06/20/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 06/25/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 06/26/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 06/26/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 06/27/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/02/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 07/03/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 07/03/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 07/04/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/09/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 07/10/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 07/10/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 07/11/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/16/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 07/17/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 07/17/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 07/18/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/23/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 07/24/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 07/24/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 07/25/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 07/30/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 07/31/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 07/31/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 08/01/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/06/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 08/07/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 08/07/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 08/08/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/13/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 08/14/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 08/14/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 08/15/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/20/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 08/21/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 08/21/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 08/22/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 08/27/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 08/28/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 08/28/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 08/29/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/03/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 09/04/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 09/04/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 09/05/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/10/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 09/11/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 09/11/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 09/12/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/17/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 09/18/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 09/18/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 09/19/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/24/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 09/25/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 09/25/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 09/26/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/01/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 10/02/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 10/02/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 10/03/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/08/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 10/09/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 10/09/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 10/10/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/15/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 10/16/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 10/16/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 10/17/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/22/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 10/23/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 10/23/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 10/24/2022 - 5:00pm
Sat, 10/29/2022 - 11:00am - Sun, 10/30/2022 - 5:00pm
Sun, 10/30/2022 - 11:00am - Mon, 10/31/2022 - 5:00pm

Enjoy a chairlift ride to Spruce Lake. You may explore Spruce Lake and walk down the trail or ride back down on the chairlift and you can load your mountain bike on the lift to ride the trails at the top of the mountain! Available Saturdays and Sundays from May 21 through October 30, 11AM to 5PM.

Photo credit: Holiday Valley

Read more

Night Lights at Griffis Sculpture Park 2022

Night Lights 2019 at Griffis Sculpture Park
Repeats every week every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sat Oct 15 2022 .
Thu, 09/15/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 09/16/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 09/17/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu, 09/22/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 09/23/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 09/24/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu, 09/29/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 09/30/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 10/01/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu, 10/06/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 10/07/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 10/08/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu, 10/13/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 10/14/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 10/15/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm

Griffis Sculpture Park will be illuminated with colorful and theatrical lighting when “NIGHT LIGHTS at Griffis Sculpture Park” returns on September 9th.  NIGHT LIGHTS will be open 25 nights for guests to walk some of the park’s trails to experience the interaction between lights, nature and art.  

NIGHT LIGHTS will open from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. The dates NIGHT LIGHTS will be open:

  • September 9 & 10
  • September 15 - 17
  • September 22 (CANCELLED)
  • September 23 - 24
  • September 29 - October 1
  • October 6 - 9 
  • October 13 - 15

Read more

Free Fishing Day in NY!

Man teaching child to fish
Sat, 09/24/2022 (All day)

The NYS Dept of Environmental Conservation is hosting a FREE fishing day on September 24th. There’s no fishing license required on those days for the fresh or marine waters of New York State, making it the opportune time for people of all ages to learn and enjoy the day.

Read more

Pumpkin Carving Class with Eric Jones

Pumpkin Carving by Eric Jones
Sat, 09/24/2022 - 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Learn how to 3D carve a pumpkin with Eric Jones!

Read more

CANCELLED-Gowanda's Classic Car Show 2022

Classic Car
Sun, 09/25/2022 - 11:00am - 6:00pm

A fleet of classic cars will be on full display, Sunday, September 25th at The Wicked Glen.

Registration opens at 11:00am and awards at 3:00pm. $10.00 registration donation. 

There will be a live band, food, 50/50, awards and fun!!

Read more

Pumpkin Carving Class with Eric Jones

Pumpkin Carving by Eric Jones
Sun, 09/25/2022 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn how to 3D carve a pumpkin with Eric Jones!

Read more

Nightmare Hayrides on Sommerville Street 2022

Employees at The Nightmare Hayrides
Repeats every week until Sun Oct 30 2022 .
Fri, 09/30/2022 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/07/2022 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/14/2022 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/21/2022 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm

Jump on the SCARIEST HAYRIDE in Western New York. Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings only.  Nightmare Hayride is a twenty five minute tractor drawn hayride that will lead you down a creepy haunted path with live scary creatures.

Read more

2022 Rock City Park's Gem, Mineral & Fossil Show

Rock City Park's Gem, Mineral & Fossil Show
Sat, 10/01/2022 - 10:00am - Sun, 10/02/2022 - 5:00pm

October 1st & 2nd,  Show Hours:  10am - 5pm.

Rock enthusiasts will have the chance to view, purchase and learn about rare and common rocks from

Read more

Woods Walk at the Lillibridge Property - Pfeiffer Nature Center

Trail at Lillibridge Property
Sat, 10/01/2022 - 10:00am - 1:00pm

Pfeiffer Nature Center Woods Walk at the Lillibridge Property  

Read more

October StrOlean 2022

Strolean June 2019
Sat, 10/08/2022 - 10:00am - 4:00pm

The Greater Olean Area Chamber of Commerce and city leadership are inviting the community out for a night on the town. Working with the city and members of the business community, the Chamber is announcing “StrOlean,” the event aims to bring folks to the downtown shopping district for an evening of fun. 

Read more

Night Lights at Griffis Sculpture Park 2022

Night Lights 2019 at Griffis Sculpture Park
Repeats every week every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sat Oct 15 2022 .
Sun, 10/09/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu, 10/13/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri, 10/14/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Sat, 10/15/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm

Griffis Sculpture Park will be illuminated with colorful and theatrical lighting when “NIGHT LIGHTS at Griffis Sculpture Park” returns on September 9th.  NIGHT LIGHTS will be open 25 nights for guests to walk some of the park’s trails to experience the interaction between lights, nature and art.  

NIGHT LIGHTS will open from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. The dates NIGHT LIGHTS will be open:

  • September 9 & 10
  • September 15 - 17
  • September 22 - 24
  • September 29 - October 1
  • October 6 - 9 
  • October 13 - 15

Read more

Gowanda's Trout Fishing Derby 2022

Man fly fishing in the creek
Sat, 10/15/2022 - 7:00am - 6:00pm

Gowanda's Fire Department is hosting a Trout Fishing Derby October 15-16, 2022! 

  • Saturday, October 15- 7:00am-6:00pm
  • Sunday, October 16- 7:00am-4:00pm

Fishing will take place within the Village of Gowanda boundaries of the Cattaragus Creek. 

Read more

Gowanda's Trout Fishing Derby 2022

Man fly fishing in the creek
Sun, 10/16/2022 - 7:00am - 4:00pm

Gowanda's Fire Department is hosting a Trout Fishing Derby October 15-16, 2022! 

  • Saturday, October 15- 7:00am-6:00pm
  • Sunday, October 16- 7:00am-4:00pm

Fishing will take place within the Village of Gowanda boundaries of the Cattaragus Creek. 

Read more

Pumpkin Carving Demo with Eric Jones

Pumpkin Carving by Eric Jones
Thu, 10/20/2022 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Watch Eric Jones demonstrate 3D carving on a pumpkin!

Read more

Triple D Rodeo - Bulls & Barrels

Rodeo
Fri, 10/21/2022 - 7:00pm - 10:30pm

Triple D Rodeo, the newest Rodeo in Cattaraugus County should be your next stop! They host their "Bulls & Barrels" events every 3rd Friday of each month.

Read more

Halloween Half Marathon and 5k at Holiday Valley 2022

Sat, 10/22/2022 - 11:00am - 3:00pm

The EVL Halloween Half will be a fun filled Halloween-themed event on Saturday October 22, 2022. The event will feature a Half Marathon, 5k, and a Half Marathon Relay. We encourage runners of all abilities to join us!

Read more

Spooky Family Fun Bike Ride at Allegany State Park

Scary Family Bike Ride
Sat, 10/22/2022 - 5:30pm - 8:00pm

With Halloween and Fat bike season right around the corner, the Environmental Education and Recreation Department wanted to put a twist on the traditional Halloween party. On Saturday, October 22nd, kids of all ages will have the opportunity to dress up their bikes or wear a bike safe costume at this family fun event.

Read more

Pumpkin Carving Class with Eric Jones

Pumpkin Carving by Eric Jones
Mon, 10/24/2022 - 11:00am - 1:00pm

Learn how to 3D carve a pumpkin with Eric Jones!

Read more

Pumpkin Carving Class with Eric Jones

Pumpkin Carving by Eric Jones
Thu, 10/27/2022 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Learn how to 3D carve a pumpkin with Eric Jones!

Read more

Free Fishing Day in NY!

Man teaching child to fish
Fri, 11/11/2022 (All day)

The NYS Dept of Environmental Conservation is hosting a FREE fishing day on November 11th. There’s no fishing license required on those days for the fresh or marine waters of New York State, making it the opportune time for people of all ages to learn and enjoy the day.

Read more

Randolph's Holiday Arts & Crafts Show 2022

Arts and Craft Show
Sat, 12/03/2022 - 10:00am - 4:00pm

Looking for a great opportunity to pick up the perfect one of a kind gift for the holidays?  Randolph Central School is excited to announce the annual RCS Arts and Crafts Show will take place at the High and Elementary School GYMS of Randolph Central School District. Browse the vendors along with a concession stand and bake sale.

Read more

Nature Lovers Places

Travel Guide

2022 Guide Cover

It's a full 56-page comprehensive guide, highlighting the activities and attractions in our County.

Request the Enchanted Mountains guide to be snail mailed to you for FREE!

Miner's Cabin built by Gold Miner

Miner’s Cabin in Franklinville was built by a miner that returned home after making it good during the gold rush era of the west coast. The building is not a cabin either but a three story house of Queen Anne design.

Read more