Skip to main content

Machias

The Town of Machias is an interior town in the northeast quadrant of the county. It is northeast of the city of Salamanca.

The Town of Machias was first settled around 1813 and was established in 1827 from the Town of Yorkshire. In 1847, Machias was increased by additional territory from the Town of Yorkshire.  Machias received its name from Maine settlers.

According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 41.1 square miles, of which, 40.6 square miles of it is land and 0.5 square miles of it (1.24%) is water.

New York State Route 16 intersects New York State Route 242 at Machias village.

Ischua Creek flows past the south part of Machias village.

A popular stop in Machias is Lime Lake.

Learn more about Machias, NY

Places in Machias

A store for those that love the outdoors with an indoor archery range.

The Lime Lake Snack Bar is located on the north-west side of Lime Lake has many great treats for the family.

(Seasonal, May-September)

Gift shop offering a variety of unique items.
Stop by and see the latest display!
A small lake located in Machias, NY right next to Route 16.

Free Fishing Day in NY!

The NYS Dept of Environmental Conservation is hosting a FREE fishing day on February 17-18, June 29-30, September 28, and November 11th. There’s no fishing license required on those days for the fresh or marine waters of New York State, making it the opportune time for people of all ages to learn and enjoy the day. We especially encourage those with more experience to bring along the young people in your life to show them the value of patience, the anticipation of the bite and the exhilaration of the catch!